Domaine CH TAVERNIER
Les Terrasses
05200 Embrun
cha.tavernier@orange.fr
Tél : 04 92 50 41 68

Domaine Charles Henri Tavernier

I settled at Embrun in 2006 with the aim of making wine in a region where vines have historically been cultivated for years, but always in combination with other types of production, notably bovine.

Today I tend just under 4 hectares of vines, whose grapes will officially be certified organic in 2017. My vines grow each side of the Durance at between 800 and 1,000 metres altitude near the villages of Châteauroux les Alpes and Saint Andre d’Embrun.

The limestone clay soils have been formed from alluvial deposits left by the passage of glaciers, and latterly the flow of rivers. A relatively “recent” geology whose youth is reflected in the vivacity of the wines.

This mountainous region enjoys a dry, sunny climate, in which the vines thrive in spite of the fairly high altitude. I wanted to acquire land where the vines would flourish without excessive use of pesticides.  

My Wines

Hautes Alpes

I personally make, mature and bottle the wines that are the fruit of these vines. This work, like that in the vines, is carried out with maximum respect for the fruit. I don’t use any industrial yeasts or enzymes of extraction. And only tiny doses of sulphites are used to protect the wine.

I produce between five and seven wines, depending on the vintage: two dry whites, one of which is aged in oak, the same for the reds, plus a rosé. If the quality of the vintage allows, I also make a sweet white wine and a red wine without added sulphites.

The wide assortment of grapes in my vineyard don’t allow me to make single varietal wines.

The whites are mainly a blend of Chardonnay and Chasan, which can be complemented with small berry Muscat, Muller Turgau, Altesse, Jacquere and Marsanne, and are fragrantly honeyed and floral.

The reds are made from old vine Carignan, Grenache, Cinsault, Aramon, and Alicante and young vines of Cabernet Franc, Gamay, Mollard and Pinot Noir. They produce light, deliciously mouth-watering wines, made in such a way as to preserve a maximum of fruit, that are best drunk in their youth.

Charles-Henri TAVERNIER

Contact Information

Domaine CH TAVERNIER
Les Terrasses
05200 Embrun
cha.tavernier@orange.fr
Tél : 04 92 50 41 68

Domaine CH TAVERNIER
Les Terrasses
05200 Embrun
cha.tavernier@orange.fr
Tél : 04 92 50 41 68

Domaine Charles Henri Tavernier

Je me suis installé en 2006 sur la commune d’Embrun avec pour objectif de créer une exploitation viticole dans une région ou la culture de la vigne est présente depuis longtemps mais toujours associé à d’autres productions (élevage notamment).

Je travaille aujourd’hui un peu moins de 4 hectares de vignes dont les raisins seront officiellement certifiés bio en 2017. Châteauroux les Alpes et Saint Andre d’Embrun sont les deux communes sur lesquelles se trouvent mes vignes de par et d’autre de la Durance entre 800 et 1 000 mètres d’altitude.

Les sols argilo calcaire sont constitués d’alluvions déposés par les glaciers et plus récemment les courts d’eau. Une géologie « récente » dont la jeunesse se retrouve dans la vivacité des vins.

Cette région de montagne bénéficie d’un climat sec et ensoleillé qui permet malgré une altitude assez élevée lors je reprends des vignes donc il a fallu acquérir des terres a la vigne de fructifier sans employer trop de pesticide.

Mes Vins

Hautes Alpes

Les raisins issus de ces vignes sont vinifiés, élevés, et mis en bouteille par mes soins. Ce travail, comme celui de la vigne est réalisé de façon à respecter le plus possible le fruit. Je n’utilise ni levures industrielles ni enzymes d’extraction. Les conservateurs (sulfites) sont employés à dose très restreintes.

Cinq à sept cuvées vous sont proposées suivant les millésimes : Deux blancs sec dont un élevé en barrique, même chose pour les rouges et un rosé. Si la qualité des vendange le permet, je vinifie également un blanc moelleux et un rouge sans sulfites.

La variété des cépages présente sur mon exploitation ne me permet pas de faire de cuvée « monocépage ».

Les blancs sont principalement constitués de chardonnay et de chasan auxquels peuvent se rajoutés le muscat petit grain, le muller turgau, l’altesse, le jacquère et la marssane.

Les rouges sont eux vinifié à partir de veilles vignes de carignan, grenache, cinsault, aramon, alicante et de jeunes vignes de cabernet franc, gamay, mollard et pinot. Les blancs se caractérisent par des arômes de miel et floraux.

Les rouges sont plus légers et vinifiés de façon à préserver le maximum de leur fruit. Des vins friands à boire plutôt jeunes.

Charles-Henri TAVERNIER

Contact Information

Domaine CH TAVERNIER
Les Terrasses
05200 Embrun
cha.tavernier@orange.fr
Tél : 04 92 50 41 68